About us

What drives us: The maritime industry emerged in the 21st century as a highly specialized field. Various aspects – such as different shipping segments, modern offshore projects, new environmental technologies and propulsion systems, international regulations and requirements – call for specialized technical and business knowledge. It also involves continually monitoring and evaluating various market trends.

One thing you can always count on: We know what needs to be done and when and how it needs to be done to ensure the success of your project.

Service – not only in our name but also at the heart of all we do.

Marine Service is a family-owned business founded in 1958 by Dr. Karl-Heinz Krämer. It is now managed by the third generation, Christian Krämer, who is the majority shareholder. Christian Krämer joined the corporate group in 2013 and took over its management 2017 after the unexpected and sudden death of Peter Krämer. Peter Krämer had over decades developed the company into what it is today.

What drives us: We have been providing specialized maritime solutions for over half a century and, with our passion and dedication for shipping, have been committed to serving our customers and their interests ever since.

The list of our consulting services is a long one. Marine Service can assist and guide you in various shipping segments, vessel sizes and classes including specialized maritime projects, across the world:

  • LNG as Fuel
  • LNG tankers
  • LNG FSRU; LNG FPSO; small scale LNG; LNG bunker barges
  • Chemical and product tankers
  • Container ships
  • Dredgers
  • RO-RO ships
  • Yachts
  • Transformer platforms, converter stations and substations for use in offshore wind parks
  • LNG import and export terminals (maritime onshore and offshore facilities)
  • Assistance with tender procedures

Memberships:

VSM-Logo   sgmf-Logo

vbi-logo_small  logo_lng_mariko

mc_logo_4clogo_LNG-Platform_inline

sigtto2   Logo STG_blauer Hintergrund

Our consultancy portfolio includes feasibility and transport studies. We plan the design of new ships, conversion of LNG tankers to FSRUs and retrofitting of ships to LNG propulsion. Marine Service supervises project management, from managing all licensing procedures, carrying out building supervision, vessel inspection to the analysis and optimization of berth calculation.

We make sure that there are no unpleasant surprises.

Marine Service uses specialized, advanced software, developed in-house, for data processing, costing and evaluation processes in the implementation of all its projects. Marine Service is certified to ISO 9001 standard by the Germanischer Lloyd Group.

Organigramm MS 2016 ENAt Marine Service, our corporate culture has been shaped by the hanseatic merchant traditions, at all levels of the organizational structure. These are the foundations for our reliability and stability.

Marine Service was founded as a specialist in marine consultancy services by Dr. Karl-Heinz Krämer in 1958 for the development of marine engineering technology, project planning, and design and construction supervision of seafaring vessels. Its portfolio also included related business and legal advisory services.

Marine Service has been proactively contributing to the growth of the maritime industry for over half a century.

Through the design, development and successful implementation of high-end, complex ship projects, Marine Service has acquired outstanding technical and business expertise.

Leader in technical and commercial design, development and supervision of complex LNG projects.

We are the leading global specialists in the field of LNG and LPG transport. Marine Service developed one of the first duplex steel cargo tanks with stainless steel coating. We subsequently worked on the enhancement of tanks coated with or produced entirely from stainless steel for chemical tankers and were involved in the formulation of standards by the IMO and classification societies.

We have been involved in the planning or construction of 20 % of the current  LNG fleet.

We have been specializing in LNG tankers since the 1970s. One fourth of the LNG tanker fleet currently operating worldwide has been managed by Marine Service during various phases in the making of a ship – from the design concept to the review of design drawings, construction supervision and acceptance of work to controlling and delivery.

Expertise in marine transport of LPG, ethylene, petrochemicals and ammonia.

For over 30 years, Marine Service has been conducting analyses and technical studies for construction of vessels designed for methanol transport. This includes managing the entire process from the technical design, approval to operations and the transport of LPG and liquid ammonia (NH3).

We have 30 employees working for us at Marine Service in Hamburg, plus 25 project managers and engineers across the world. As a long-term partner, Marine Service provides consultancy services to its sister company, Chemikalien Seetransport G.m.b.H. (CST), a shipping company, which in addition to various tankers also manages a fleet of special liquefied gas tankers.

History Marine Service

A ‘normal’ day without shipping? That is very rare these days. We are dependent on a dynamic trade that connects continents across oceans through an extensive network of sea routes.

Marine Service is a part of this network. Being a company based in Hamburg, we follow the guiding principles and ethos of the hanseatic merchant tradition, which lays emphasis on business relationships built on honesty and mutual trust. As a member of the maritime industry, we are committed to this tradition, not just from an economic but also from an environmental perspective. It is essential for us to plan for the long term and to take future generations into account in the process. We want to proactively support the implementation of environmentally-friendly directives for marine transport in order to protect our oceans in the long term.

Peter Krämer

Social responsibility is an integral part of our corporate culture. In keeping with this commitment, over 1300 schools have already been built in 13 African countries as part of the “Schools for Africa” program, a joint initiative between UNICEF, the Nelson Mandela Foundation and our foundation, the Peter Krämer Stiftung.

Chemikalien Seetransport G.m.b.H. is the shipping company within the Dr. Karl-Heinz Krämer Group, specializing in chemical, product and gas tankers, as well as bulkers.

The highly complex operation of these special ships not only requires an extremely high level of technical know-how, but also a wide range of technical solutions in the field of energy efficiency and environmentally-friendly operation of the ships. Marine Service enjoys working with Chemikalien Seetransport time and again to develop new solutions for issues relating to everyday ship operation, as well as joining with the technical and nautical personnel to support customers in its own projects.

Über uns

Was uns umtreibt: Die maritime Branche hat sich im 21. Jahrhundert zu einem hoch spezialisierten Betätigungsfeld entwickelt. Die vielen verschiedenen Facetten – zum Beispiel unterschiedliche Schiffssegmente, moderne Offshore-Projekte, neue Umwelttechnologien und Antriebsarten, internationale Vorschriften und Auflagen – erfordern spezielle technische und wirtschaftliche Kenntnisse. Dazu kommen die andauernde Beobachtung und Auswertung zahlreicher Marktentwicklungen.

Darauf können Sie sich verlassen: Wir wissen, was wann und wie zu tun ist, damit Sie Ihr Projekt zu einem erfolgreichen Abschluss bringen, denn:

Wir tragen Service nicht nur im Namen, sondern im Herzen.

Marine Service ist ein 1958 von Dr. Karl-Heinz Krämer gegründetes Familienunternehmen. Es wird heute in dritter Generation von Christian Krämer als Mehrheitsgesellschafter geführt. Christian Krämer trat 2013 in die Unternehmensgruppe ein und übernahm deren Geschäftsführung 2017 nach dem plötzlichen und unerwarteten Tod seines Vaters Peter Krämer. Peter Krämer hatte das Unternehmen jahrzehntelang zu dem entwickelt, das es heute ist.

Was uns antreibt: Seit mehr als einem halben Jahrhundert bieten wir spezielle maritime Lösungen. Mit Leidenschaft und aus Liebe zur Schifffahrt treten wir seitdem für unsere Kunden und deren Belange ein.

Die Liste unserer Beratungsleistungen ist lang. Marine Service unterstützt und begleitet Sie weltweit in verschiedenen Schiffssegmenten, -größen und -klassen sowie bei maritimen Spezialprojekten:
  • LNG as Fuel
  • LNG Tanker
  • LNG FSRU; LNG FPSO; Small Scale LNG; LNG Bunker Barges
  • Chemikalien- und Produktentanker
  • Containerschiffe
  • Schwimmbagger
  • Ro-Ro Schiffe
  • Yachten
  • Transformator-Plattformen, Konverter-Stationen und Umspannwerke für den
    Einsatz in Offshore-Windparks
  • LNG-Import- und Export-Terminals (maritime On- und Offshore-Einrichtungen)
  • Assistenz bei Ausschreibungsverfahren
Mitgliedschaften:

VSM-Logo   sgmf-Logo

vbi-logo_small  logo_lng_mariko 

mc_logo_4clogo_LNG-Platform_inline

sigtto2   Logo STG_blauer Hintergrund

Unser Beratungspaket umfasst Machbarkeits- und Transportstudien. Wir planen das Design von Schiffsneubauten, die Umrüstung von LNG-Tankern zu FSRUs und die Umrüstung von Schiffen auf LNG-Antrieb. Marine Service übernimmt das Projektmanagement, steuert alle Genehmigungsverfahren, übt die Bauaufsicht aus und nimmt Schiffsinspektionen wahr bis hin zur Analyse und Optimierung der Liegeplatzberechnung.

Wir sorgen dafür, dass Sie vor unliebsamen Überraschungen sicher sind.
Bei der Ausarbeitung aller Projekte nutzt Marine Service spezielle, selbst entwickelte und verfeinerte Software für Datenverarbeitungs-, Kalkulations- und Evaluationsprozesse. Marine Service ist durch den Germanischen Lloyd nach ISO 9001 zertifiziert.

MS Organigramm 2016 DEDie Maxime eines hanseatischen Kaufmanns ist prägend für unser Handeln. Dieses Leitbild zieht sich als roter Faden durch alle Ebenen der Unternehmensstruktur von Marine Service – und ist nicht zuletzt ein Garant für Verlässlichkeit und Stabilität.

Als Spezialist für maritime Beratung wurde Marine Service 1958 für die Entwicklung von Schiffsbetriebstechnik, zur Projektierung und Planung, zur Bauaufsicht und Konstruktionsüberwachung von Seeschiffen von Dr. Karl-Heinz Krämer gegründet. Das Portfolio schloss die damit zusammenhängende wirtschaftliche und juristische Beratung mit ein.

Seit über einem halben Jahrhundert bringt Marine Service die maritime Welt aktiv voran.
Mit der Konzeption, der Konstruktion und der erfolgreichen Umsetzung anspruchsvoller, komplexer Schiffe hat sich Marine Service eine herausragende technische und wirtschaftliche Expertise erarbeitet.

Führend in der technischen und wirtschaftlichen Konzeption und Betreuung von komplexen LNG-Projekten.
Weltweit federführend sind wir durch unsere Spezialisierung auf den Gebieten des LNG- und LPG-Transports. Marine Service hat einen der ersten Duplexstahl-Ladetanks mit Edelstahlbeschichtung entworfen. In der Folge haben wir durch die Weiterentwicklung von beschichteten oder komplett aus Edelstahl gefertigten Tanks für Chemikalientanker an den Standards der IMO und der Klassifikationsgesellschaften mitgearbeitet.

Ein Viertel der weltweiten LNG-Flotte kommt von uns.
Seit den 1970er Jahren beschäftigen wir uns mit LNG-Tankern. Ein Viertel der heute weltweit fahrenden LNG-Tankerflotte ist während der verschiedenen Phasen der Entstehung der einzelnen Schiffe – von der Konzeption über Zeichnungsprüfung, Bauaufsicht und -abnahme sowie das Controlling bis zur Übergabe – durch Marine Service betreut worden

Unsere Expertise im Seetransport von LPG, Äthylen, Petrochemikalien und NH3.
Seit mehr als 30 Jahren widmet sich Marine Service Analysen und technischen Studien zum Bau von Schiffen zum Methanol-Transport. Dazu kamen Engagements, von der technischen Konzeption über die Zulassung bis zum Betrieb und den Transport von LPG und flüssigem Ammoniak (NH3).

In Hamburg sind 30 Mitarbeiter für Marine Service tätig; hinzu kommen bis zu 25 Projektleiter und Ingenieure rund um den Globus. Als ständiger Partner berät Marine Service das Schwesterunternehmen, die Reederei Chemikalien Seetransport G.m.b.H. (CST), die neben verschiedenen Tankschiffen eine Flotte von speziellen Flüssiggastankschiffen managt.

Historie Marine Service

Ein ’normaler‘ Alltag ohne Schifffahrt? Das ist heute kaum noch möglich. Wir sind abhängig von einem effektiven Handel, der über ein engmaschiges, die Weltmeere umspannendes Netz von Seewegen alle Kontinente miteinander verbindet.

Marine Service ist Teil dieses Netzes: Als Hamburger Wirtschaftsunternehmen sind wir dem Leitbild des hanseatischen Kaufmanns mit seinen Tugenden verpflichtet; eine Maxime, die sich durch den ehrlichen und vertrauensvollen Umgang der Geschäftspartner miteinander kennzeichnet. Als Unternehmen der maritimen Branche verpflichtet uns dieses Leitbild nicht nur ökonomisch, sondern auch ökologisch. Wir sind dazu aufgefordert, langfristig zu planen und dabei an kommende Generationen zu denken. Wir wollen die Umsetzung umweltschonender Seetransportrichtlinien aktiv vorantreiben, um die Meere nachhaltig zu schützen.

Peter Krämer

Soziales Engagement ist fester Bestandteil unserer Unternehmenskultur. So konnten in 13 Ländern Afrikas bereits über 1.300 Schulen durch die gemeinsame Initiative „Schulen für Afrika” von UNICEF, der Nelson Mandela Stiftung und der Peter Krämer Stiftung gebaut werden.


Chemikalien Seetransport G.m.b.H. ist die Reederei innerhalb der Dr. Karl-Heinz Krämer-Gruppe und ist spezialisiert auf Chemikalien-, Produkten- und Gastanker sowie Bulker.

Die hochkomplexe Bereederung dieser Spezialschiffe fordert nicht nur ein sehr hohes technisches Know-how, sondern auch einen großen Anteil an technischen Lösungen im Bereich der Energieeffizienz und des umweltfreundlichen Betriebs der Schiffe. Marine Service freut sich immer wieder, mit Chemikalien Seetransport neue Lösungen für die der täglichen Bereederung übergeordneten Fragestellungen zu entwickeln, aber auch zusammen mit dem technischen und nautischen Personal in eigenen Projekten seine Kunden unterstützen zu können.